Mental Health

Today someone at work posted a message to his blog regarding burn out.  I wrote back to him and I think what I wrote was worth reposting here.  I apologize if this is more information than you’re interested in but maybe it will help someone deal with similar issues.

You are not the only one.  I recently had a burn out myself.  I had been asking for a day off and it just wasn’t happening.  Everything was so intense (work issues, the guy whistling across the way, the girl eating in the next cube, not to mention home problems) that when I got an annoying phone call, I literally lost it.  My therapist was concerned enough to authorize my leave. 

I have suffered from depression and anxiety for many years.  I have been in therapy for many years.  I have made a lot of progress but I still struggle at times.  My 20-year-old daughter is bi-polar, self-medicates, and is a total risk-taker, which makes things so difficult.  I have tried almost every med on the market and hated the way they left me feeling flat and dull emotionally.  It wasn’t until the most recent break down that I found one that seems to be working: Lexapro. 

If you haven’t done these things already, I would recommend the following:

  • Get in touch with your local NAMI affiliate.  This is an invaluable resource for information as well as support for both you and your family members.

  • Find a therapist you like.  If you don’t feel comfortable with one, interview another and another until you find the right fit.

  • Work with your doctor to adjust your meds if needed.

  • Listen to your body and take time for self-care.

  • Keep talking.  Until we break down the stigma, people will continue to misunderstand mental illness.

Leave a Reply

