Tough Love

It’s not easy but necessary.

My daughter, Amber, is on her way home from Florida. It has been a horrendous month. I fear it isn’t going to get any easier. She has made some poor choices and she is still trying to manipulate. Luckily, Steve is my backbone. I don’t know what I’d do without him. The next few days will be trying but I am hoping my Amber realizes she needs to straighten up. It’s hard being tough, it’s really hard.

I feel horrible like I’m coming down with the flu. I’m sure the stress isn’t helping. My boss is really trying to be understanding. I don’t want to tell him too much but he knows things have been hard for me. Last week I left work early and he told me to take care of myself and that I didn’t need to check in with him. I told him that I felt like I needed his approval. I haven’t been very productive lately but he’s been supportive… I’m so lucky and thankful.

I sometimes wonder how I will survive. My next therapy appointment isn’t for another week or so. But nothing has ever been easy where Amber’s concerned. I keep hoping that one day all my blood, sweat, and tears will be worth it. All I wish is for her to be safe, healthy, and happy. She told me that while she was gone, she’s gone to mass a couple times. Even though I’m not currently a practicing Catholic, I was at one time. I gave Amber a foundation to grow on and I’m glad she found comfort in the familiar ritual of mass. The power of prayer: Amber has had her share of intentions; would you throw one in for me too?

Leave a Reply

