Happy New Year

I cannot believe it’s 2008. Where did 2007 go? Back to work tomorrow. Last night Steve and I went to one of our favorite places, Grand Lodge, for dinner. We had a drink or two and were home by 11:30. We rang in the New Year while watching Dick Clark on TV. We were asleep by 12:30.

It must have been cold last night because when we woke up, the house was like an oven. For some reason, the thermostat in this house is downstairs and there is no relation to the temp in the living room compared to the temp in the bedroom. So at 6:30, we got up, showered, dressed, and put the dogs in the car for a short road trip. We headed to the beach, Cannon Beach, to be exact. Little did we realize, the roads at 8:00 AM would be rather on the icy side. I was tense the whole trip but we made it safely. We stopped and had breakfast at my favorite little restaurant, Gower Street Bistro, and had my favorite dish: biscuits and gravy. What makes it so wonderful is the tomato jam and bleu cheese they add to it. It’s a wonderful combination of flavors.

After we ate, we took the dogs to this fenced tennis court and let them run off leash. They were so excited. By that time, we came to the conclusion that we were really tired so we decided to head home; besides, it was really cold at the coast. As we were heading out of town, we saw a small heard of elk! What beautiful animals. They seemed smaller than I expected so I’m guessing they were youngsters.

If I hadn’t been so freaked out about driving on the icy roads, I would have snapped some pictures of the devastation we observed which resulted during the storm that blew through last month. I was awestruck by the force of the wind that snapped trees in half and pulled other trees out by the roots. Some of the root balls were as big as a car. When winter weather subsides, we will head back to the beach and I will definitely take some pictures of the wind damage.

We got home and I took a four hour nap… now I know I’ll have trouble falling asleep. Oh, well, I have a doctor’s appointment in the morning and I’m going to see what she can do to help me with my insomnia, among other things… the endometrial ablation I had in August didn’t exactly work the way I expected it to so I have lots of questions for her on the next steps to resolving the “female” problems I’ve been having.

Wishing you all the best in 2008!

 

One Response

  1. Always nice to meet other Denise’s…..
    especially through mutual friends like craftyhala!

    Oh and Dogs, Decorating!
    Yep, will be back!

Leave a Reply

