HAPPY FRIDAY!

I have been trying to uncover the secrets to polymer clay and have come across some really great information online. I opened one of the packages of Studio by Sculpey clay last night. Oh, my gosh! It’s as smooth as buttah! It was soft and creamy compared to the other clays I’ve used… not a single crumble. Maybe because it’s fresh and hasn’t been sitting on a shelf for who-knows-how-long. The texture plates are flexible and transparent so you can see where you’re placing them. I wish I’d have discovered this stuff before I made my charms for the Valentine swap. I can see myself getting really into polymer. I have all these great ideas but I need to keep working because I’m still learning so much.

Take a look at this beautiful piece by Lisa Pavelka. Is it to die for or what? Look at this one, this one, and this one. If you didn’t know, I have amassed a small collection of coin purses so this speaks to me. Now take a look at this piece, equally as beautiful. I have some really cool vintage clocks that would be great with polymer patchwork all over them.

PS: My daughter sent me a text message last night: “Mom i just wantd 2 text u and say hi! I love u. Good nite!” I love you too, Amber.

3 Responses

  1. Hi Denise- great links- Thanks! If you’d like to attend an all-polymer west coast retreat where you’ll work and learn a LOT, the Vancouver Island Polymer Clay Artists Guild is presenting “Sojourn 2008” in Nanaimo. February 22-24. http://sojourn08.blogspot.com/It would be great to have some of our American cousins join us!

    cheers!
    gera in Victoria, BC

  2. Hi Denise! You have a great blog and I learned quite a bit. Your write up on studio clays was great. And I share your enthusiasm for Laurie Mika’s book-I love it! I can see that we have a lot of the same interests.
    I’m looking forward to Tejae’s class, also.
    blessings,
    Lisa Gatz

  3. I love Studio by Sculpey tools, I even sell them!

Leave a Reply

