Pros & Cons

I had an appointment with my therapist today. I have been in therapy on and off for the past 18 years. Over the years, some of the people I’ve been to were great, some were not. The therapist I have now is in the great category. I would recommend talk therapy if you need to work through issues in your life. I guess I’m from the opinion that we are continually growing and changing during our whole lives. Change can be difficult and having an unbiased professional help you sort through things can be so helpful.

There are three things I’m working on now. First, I would like to get my financial situation under control. I want to get some credit paid off and start seriously planning for retirement. I would like to sell my house and build a new one in Scappoose, the town where I grew up. Eventually, I would like to simplify and downsize. I would like to have a creative job and live with much less job-related stress.

Second, I would like to get my eating under control. I think I mentioned before that I use food to soothe myself. I really need to learn better coping skills and be satisfied with delayed gratification. Logically, I get it but my relationship with food is emotional.

Third, I would like to be more active. Last year I got a new bike but it’s been so rainy that, it hasn’t gotten much use lately. Until I am able to drag it out again, I need to get out at lunchtime and start walking. I want to carry my camera with me in case there are some photo ops while I’m outside. Exposing myself to daylight will also help with my mood.

Because my mood is down, my therapist suggested listing the reasons why and why not to do the things I’ve been struggling with. Hopefully, I can create some healthier habits, become more stable financially, and lose some excess weight. Wish me luck… I’ll need it.

4 Responses

  1. Denise, you’re much stronger than you give yourself credit for. You’d be surprised. Plus, lots of people believe in you and love you. (((HUGS))). You can do it. If you want to arrange walks with me on a weekend sometime I’d love to.

  2. Isn’t my sister-in-law, Karen, the best!

  3. You said it!!!
    thanks,
    NW

  4. Denise the walks with the camera sound lovely, wish I was closer I would grab my camera and join you , I love taking photos and I also need the exercise,
    barb

Leave a Reply

