I Love Secrets!

I took a virtual class recently. The class was titled Secrets of the Encased Heart and was taught by Tejae Floyde. If you’re not familiar with her work, you’re missing out! She is so very creative and you can feel the life in her art… just amazingly beautiful stuff!

Anyway, back to the class. I would classify myself as a novice as far as polymer clay goes. As a matter of fact, I don’t even consider myself an artist because in my mind that implies that you’ve actually made money selling your art, which I have not. I am very protective of my creations and (maybe this has to do with my hoarding problem) but I can’t seem to part with anything I’ve made so far. Now, I’m not talking about cards and swaps and stuff like that because those things are like mass production items.

I had some doubts about how the class would work. I wasn’t overly impressed with the host’s website. But I thought… what do I have to lose? Besides, I love
Tejae’s art so I would love to learn from her, especially if she was willing to divulge the actual Secrets!

I have to admit, that I was wrong to make any negative assumptions. The class was great! How many classes have you taken where the instructor gives a demo here, a demo there but goes so quickly, you cannot really learn anything, let alone apply the technique yourself? Tejae created a .pdf document with step-by-step directions, tips and helpful hints and actually emailed them to the students! How wonderful to be able to read through them and then refer back while working. What a concept! And when was the last time you paid $45 to attend a class taught by a successful, renowned artist?

Although the host’s website isn’t frilly, it is very functional. And the host was actually one of the students. The message boards were basic but they worked. We were able to access the site long before the class was scheduled so it was a nice way to get ready for the class. Students were able to ask questions, show their work, and interact with each other. Everyone’s level of expertise was different and it was inspiring to see what others had come up with. Tejae was very attentive to our questions and provided really detailed information in a very timely manner.

If you ever have the opportunity to take a class from Tejae, I would highly, highly recommend it.

I am still learning about polymer but I am happy it’s such an affordable medium. A few of my hearts turned out okay. With practice, I am sure I’ll get better. I will keep playing until I’m satisfied. You never know. Maybe someday I’ll feel confident enough to actually list some of my work on etsy. For now, here’s a peek at the results of this class.


3 Responses

  1. Don’t you just love my little hand? I got it at a really cute shop at the coast over the weekend.

  2. Hi Denise – I read this post with great interest as I am a polymer clay artist living in France and just about to open a hobby centre offering courses! I think what you have produced is absolutely great! Kylee

  3. I saw your post on A&S Group about a badge and clicked on your link to see your blog. I love those hearts, I would definitely purchase if those were on Etsy! Keep at it!

Leave a Reply

