Does certification matter?

I am considering narrowing my artistic focus. Maybe narrowing isn’t the correct word but I’d like to get serious about one medium in particular: Precious Metal Clay… also known as PMC. I have taken a couple PMC classes. One taught by Sherri Haab & Wendy Wallin Malinow and another by Louise Duhamel. I loved working with it. No matter where I’m at, someone comments about the pendant I created. So what I’m thinking of is actually making some pieces to sell. If that works well, then I think I would like to get certified and get a new kiln. Eventually, maybe I’d like to teach classes. What I’m not sure about is whether it makes sense to get certified. PMC Connection, Rio Rewards, and Art Clay World offer certification programs. I know by becoming certified, you’re able to purchase PMC at a discount but what other benefits does becoming certified offer? How much of a discount do you get? Does it make sense to become certified now or later? Anyone have any experience with such things?

5 Responses

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Chris Moran

  2. Wanted to say thanks for stopping by my blog, yours is a nice spot to be and I’ll be back! Can’t help you with the comp tech stuff…I really am in the dark about this stuff, but I’m supportive–follow your heart and do it!
    :0)
    Tara

  3. yes, i think it would be so much more credible for you to say you are certified. you could definitely add that to any descriptions of your work and i think it would be an extra promotion tool. and definitely it you wanted to teach, it would be even better!

  4. also, i want to see a picture of the pendant you referred to!

  5. I’ve been on the fence a long time about certification. Curious what you decide to do. Let us know what you decide. Certification wasn’t widely available in my area (Portland, Ore) when I started to work with PMC. By the time, it was more accessible, I felt I already knew the techniques taught. I never felt it was a problem, not to be certified, at least not to my face! I don’t teach extensively, maybe certification would be a nice addition to your teaching resume. Good luck with your work and future decisions!

Leave a Reply

