Sneak Peek

I finished my By the Sea fatbook pages. And I finished early, I might add. I will have to get them in the mail this week. Here is a sneak peek. I normally don’t like glitter but it gives the illusion of water so I thought it worked well in this case. The colors aren’t as bright in this pic as in real life but I didn’t use very good lighting in the shot. I tried to get the effect of sand on the frame but not sure it was exactly what I was going for. All in all though, I think they turned out well (they look better in person). My favorite part is the little floating starfish/sand dollar.

 

 

I have two more swaps to work on: the By the Sea charm swap and the polymer heart for Tejae’s Yahoo group. I think I know what I’m going to do for the charm swap if I can find some really tiny shells. Tejae‘s swap is one-for-one so it’s not going to take long. Plus I know what I want to do. Just need to make sure I have the right color of polymer and paint. Need to order the Prismacolor Markers that everyone was talking about in the online class I took. I hate the little bumps and fingerprints that wind up in places you don’t want them on the finished piece. I wondered how everyone’s work looked so perfect and today I learned another secret. So I’m going to Home Depot—make that Lowes (they have better customer service)—tomorrow to get some sanding pads and steel wool to use with the polymer to see if I can get better results.

I feel so fortunate to be a member of Tejae’s group. She is such an amazing artist. Take a look at her etsy store and her slide show. She is so patient and kindly answers all my beginner polymer questions. I would love to take another class from her.

I cannot wait until next week… my new kiln will be here on the 12th! Unfortunately, I have a business trip the following week so I’ll have to abandon it for a few days. But we’re going to Arizona and we’re planning a fun team building event. We may be able to get tickets to a spring training game. I don’t follow baseball but my parents love the Mariners so it would be fun to see them play. Whatever we end up doing it’ll be a good time. I work with a group of really nice people.

Gotta get to bed! It’s class nine tomorrow—only a few more to go!

4 Responses

  1. I love your pages Denise. So sorry that we’re not in the same swap! See you in Virginia!

  2. OOOOOOOOOOOO! I can’t wait to see them in person.

  3. Denise your pages turned out beautiful – nice job. I have tons of little seashells, dark and light colors if you want some.
    I just requested to join Tejae’s group, I love the inspiration and look forward to learning more about clay.
    See you soon.

  4. Love your pages and charms-are these for Hampton? I hope so. Is the heart and hand for Hampton? I am clueless about that-are we supposed to have received something from A&S to alter? Is that it? Thanks, Gina

Leave a Reply

