Music

Streaming audio isn’t what it used to be. Today, I discovered AOL Radio. Those who know me and love me will appreciate my enthusiasm for this: they have one station solely devoted to NEW WAVE and another to ’80s ALTERNATIVE! If you’re a fan of Depeche Mode, The Fixx, Erasure, The Cure, Psychedelic Furs—I could go on and on—you will love it! I know I’m giving away my age but listening to this stuff makes me feel young again. It makes my heart smile. They have an 80’s pop station too but there is a big difference. They play stuff like Michael Jackson, Phil Collins, Journey… Don’t get me wrong, I love that stuff too but it’s not the same! There’s something about that new wave/alternative music from my teen years that makes me want to sing and dance. You remember that kind of dancing I’m talking about, right? It’s funny because I was so terribly shy in high school that I wouldn’t do a lot of the normal social things everyone else did… I never went on a date or even kissed a boy until I was out of high school! Well, when I left home, I was pleasantly surprised that I could go clubbing on base and they even had “ladies night.” I could let my pent up inner party girl out and no one knew how shy I really was. No one was shocked at my behavior because, quite frankly it was 1984, everyone was having a good time. And besides that, my behavior was still quite tame in comparison. Oh, I made up for lost time but eventually, my partying days died down when I got married, and had a baby. Babies make you grow up fast. But it’s that music that brings back the memories of that care-free life of not so long ago.

Leave a Reply

