Sad follow up to a previous post

One of my mom’s sisters has been battling cancer for a while now. I never got to spend a lot of time with Aunt C but from what I know of her and the times I met her, she reminded me a lot of my Gramma. She had that grand-motherly-ness about her which seems silly because she’s younger than my mom. My mom was number 13 and Aunt C was number 15 in the line of 21. I think there was about two years between them. Aunt C is in the final stages of her life now. My mom & dad are on their way to her.

Aunt C had kids with her first husband. I know she tried but she never got to see them. My mom says they grew up believing their mom abandoned them. I know that isn’t true. And now that she’s dying, I know it would mean a lot to at least speak to them before she’s gone.

How things have changed in the past 30 years. It’s so much easier to “find” people now than it was in the 1970s. In planning a reunion, I actually found these cousins quite easily online. I tried to open communication with them. I didn’t succeed but I left the door cracked in case they changed their mind. Part of me wants to tell them they’re wrong about what their father led them to believe but I think I’ll leave it to my Aunt L. Aunt L was very close to my Aunt C. I think she was going to make her own attempt at contacting my cousins. I hope she succeeds. Life is short and precious.

Please pray for my aunt and her family.

Leave a Reply

