Hampton Art & Soul

I returned home last night from a wonderful art-filled vacation in Hampton, Virginia. I am so happy I went because I made so many new friends. That is a big accomplishment for me. I am usually very shy. Often I feel uncomfortable around others who I perceive to be superior to me in some way or another. As you may or may not know, I’ve been working on my self-image in therapy. I made a conscious effort to take a risk and expose my true self to others. Maybe some people didn’t like me but that’s okay. I met some wonderful, beautiful, creative women during my adventure and you know what? It was damn well worth it. I know I will see many of these ladies again and will keep in touch with many others. Connecting on a creative level with these remarkable individuals was enough to make the trip priceless.

By the way, I am going to add a new blog roll category to spotlight friends and acquaintences from this trip so you can meet them too (stay tuned). Thank you all for inspiring me and accepting me… flaws and all (you know what I’m talkin’ about!). Sincerely, I am so fortunate to have crossed paths with you all.

I LOVED every class I took. I will be high-lighting each class in separate blog posts but for now, I wanted to give a glimpse of some of the artwork I created.

2 Responses

  1. Oh Denise, it was good to meet you as well. You are such sweet talented girl, how could we not all love you?! I’m glad we have Portland to look forward to as well. I love that you posted photos of your class projects. It’s such fun to see them all again.
    Be well, Dede

  2. Hi Denise! Beautiful work! It was so, so nice to meet you in Hampton and I can’t wait until our paths cross again in Portland in the fall. Wasn’t that just the BEST time?

    xo

Leave a Reply

