Shopping therapy

I participated in some shopping therapy this weekend. Steve and I drove to the gorge on Saturday. The drive is beautiful and Hood River is such a quaint little city. Multnomah Falls is one of the most beautiful places in the state (though we didn’t stop). We really wanted to go to the coast but we both knew the beach would be CROWDED! Anyway, here are some of the things I found.

A vintage terrarium. I filled it with some of my gardening things. It fits perfectly in this little niche I have near my dining room.

Some old keys, a couple game cards, lead letters that spell BLISS, a couple tiny perfume bottles, 12 little shot glasses, and a little wooden hand. The glass will be transformed into jewelry and I’m not sure what I’ll do with the other stuff. I may save it for one of the Lisa Kaus classes I’m attending this summer.

A really old, wooden toothbrush store display. It’s really dusty and I’m not sure how to clean it up. Any suggestions?

A wire basket. I love wire baskets. I may take the shelf down above the terrarium and hang this basket instead.

A set of six teensy, tiny silver shakers. Don’t you just love the patina? Not sure what I’ll do with these either but I’m sure I’ll figure out something.

A whole bag of tiny sand dollars. Where do these little baby ones come from? The ones I’ve found on the Oregon coast are huge in comparison. I think I’ll use these in some soldering projects I have on my to-do list.

And here is the best deal I got: a roll of wrapping paper for $2! Nothing else was really a bargain but this definitely was!

I also found some really cool vintage jewelry things. They’re not stampings or beads or findings but little copper and brass pieces. They’re really cool.

I also bought some plants to put in the back yard. I’ll have to post a picture after I finish planting, pull some weeds, and clean up the patio.

Here are some of the stores I shopped at:

Stars Antique Mall
Patina
Al’s Garden Center
Antiques & Oddities
Ikote Bead Design

3 Responses

  1. I Love all your finds Denise, especially the hand, and letters. That Terrarium is pretty cool too. Thanks for showing all your neat stuff. And for the tour of Oregon!

  2. Sounds like you had a good shopping trip!

    I’m also taking a class from Lisa. What class are taking and what day?

    Laura

  3. love your finds – especially the mini shakers, really cute! retail therapy can be quite beneficial in my opinion…..

Leave a Reply

