Junk Drawer: Stephanie Lee

On Sunday, I had the opportunity to take Stephanie Lee‘s Junk Drawer Metalsmithing class. The class was held at Diane Havnen-Smith‘s studio in Clackamas. Diane served a delicious lunch and the smaller class size provided a more intimate gathering. Diane has an amazing little cedar house in her back yard which was a heavenly place (I need one of those)! Stephanie shared so many of her techniques. I wasn’t feeling my creative best but I managed to fabricate a couple pieces that I am happy with.

My next tool purchases will be a quality butane torch and a bench grinder. I used a tripod in a class I took with Jane Wynn last year so I think I’ll need one of those too. That should allow me to do all the cool projects I have in mind.

Several of my yahoo charmster friends attended the class. It was great to put faces to names.

If you get a chance to attend one of Stephanie’s classes, I would highly recommend you do! Also, if you are thinking of taking a class hosted by Diane, you will not regret it!

I went back to work today. It was a long day.

6 Responses

  1. These are awesome Denise! I am so glad you enjoyed your class, wish I could have joined you guys. I just bought a mini butane torch so I can try some bezels myself.

  2. hi denise…for not feeling it…you sure had great outcomes. the one stamped home is impressive…i didn’t even attempt the “edge to edge” no excess in hampton… you did great. i’ve been meaning to drop a hello…it seems i’m just now getting back into the swing of things…i can only imagine your first day back to work was long with all you’ve been up to. take care and i look forward to seeing you in portland in the fall.

  3. Oh Denise, I am so envious of you! I so want to get into this class at A&S in Portland! So glad you were able to go, and I love your sweet pieces.

  4. Hello,
    I also took this class on friday! it was so FUN! you did really WELL!! the whole day was FABULOUS, the little cedar house was such a fun bonus and that lunch! yum… it was fun seeing what you made..
    Terri

  5. Oh, lucky you Denise! I didn’t know that I loved Stephanie until Art & Soul Hampton. I think I need a torch and stuff too.

    xo

  6. I’m registered for Stephanie’s Junk Drawer class at PDX A&S this year!!! I was already excited but your post has pretty much just put me over the top! And I already know my next purchase most def is gonna be a butane torch! Fire…good! 🙂

    I live in the PDX area so I SO need to take a class at Innerstandings!!!

    Cheers,
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

