Saturday adventure

I set my alarm to go off at 4 AM on Saturday. Of course, I didn’t get out of bed right away… actually, I fell back to sleep for an hour. I got up at 5 AM and was out of the house before 6 AM! Chloe and I were on our way. She is such a good traveler. She likes to bark at people but in the car, she snuggles up and enjoys the ride. Isn’t she the cutest?

We got to Spokane around noon. It was rainy and cold and there was a line to get in to the sale. When I got inside, it was packed! There were some really cool vendors there. I asked permission before taking pictures of the following displays.

the farm girls 010 the farm girls 001 the farm girls 003 the farm girls 002 the farm girls 005 the farm girls 008 the farm girls 007 the farm girls 006 the farm girls 009

I walked through the sale a couple times before I decided what I wanted to buy. I bought one large ticket item and the rest were little trinkets. Here is the chicken coop pie safe. I probably paid more than I should have but I did get the seller to drop $10 from the ticketed price. I put some of my angels in it but I think I need to start collecting birds for it.

Here is the little bird cage I bought from the same vendor. I am debating whether or not to paint it. What do you think?

I found these three little shakers. I thought they were so cute. Also found some little letters that spell my favorite word: Bliss. The shakers are sitting on an old store display sign. I’ve been looking for one of these for a long time and was surprised to find this one with the cute picture and lovely millinery flowers tied to it. The rusty old furniture leg is one of my favorite finds of the day. It was lonely and needed a home.

Here are some little odds and ends I bought from various vendors: three old drawer pulls, a couple small knobs, a roll of vintage wallpaper trim, some tins and vials, two watch crystals, an old watch casing, and a painted escutcheon.

The last thing I bought was two different jars of olive tapenade. Yum!

I left Spokane around 4 PM and was home by 10 PM. Next year I’m going to plan farther ahead and make Farm Chicks a girls get-away weekend. Put it on your calendar now, ladies!

June 6, 2009  •  10am-6pm
June 7, 2009  •  10am-4pm

5 Responses

  1. Sign me up!

    Chloe is “puppy most precious.” I had a chaweewee, as I call them for 18 years. Her name was Shotze, sweetheart in German.

    I love your birdcage and no I would not paint it. Part of the charm is the shabby chic vintage color.

    Thanks for sharing,

    Laura

  2. Scoot over girls, I’m coming too! So wish I lived within driving distance! Glad you had a good time, and even bought a few new things. Love that little Bliss sign too.

  3. I love your pics. I think we met at Hampton, but I am confused. Your blog says both paisley dragonfly and follow you bliss. I thought Mainer at Heart, Mary Ann from Wisconson was Follow your Bliss. Are you guys connected?

  4. Denise it looks like you had a great time – what a fun adventure! I can’t wait to see what you do with all of your goodies. That pie safe is a fun find.

  5. I am so glad you had a good time. I will put it on my calendar for next year. I would have went with you this year but I signed up for Sally Jean’s workshop back in January. Love all your good finds. Such a cute picture of Chloe.

Leave a Reply

