Out of the blue

Out of nowhere, Steve announced he must make a trip home. Where is home? Cody. Cody… as in Wyoming. He told me he needed to meet with someone about his grandfather’s care but I’m not really sure that’s the whole story. I really think it’s more related to his emotional state at the moment. Losing Bull last week hit Steve hard and he’s realizing his grandfather is getting older too. Which leads me to believe there’s more to it than he’s letting on.

At first he wanted to go for a weekend. Oh, my gosh… airfare was outrageous! In order to get a decent deal, it would take as much time traveling as it would to drive there. And going all that way for one weekend didn’t make any sense to me. All that expense for maybe 18 hours time. He asked me if I wanted to go with him… of course I do! But I told him that if he put it off a week, maybe we could take a three-day weekend for the 4th of July. But then, who would take care of the dogs? So many things working against this idea but we finally figured out the details.

We’re going drive. We’re going to take the dogs. We’re going to leave on Wednesday and drive half-way. We’ll drive the rest of the way on Thursday and while Steve hangs out with his grandfather, I will probably hang out with Steve’s girl-relatives, Brenda and Melissa. We’ll also get to visit with some of Steve’s friends who are really nice, Tascha and Jason. The 4th of July is a big day in Cody. We’ll watch the parade, have coffee, shop, eat, and enjoy the festivities of the holiday, which probably includes fireworks… it is Wyoming, after all. Saturday, we’ll head up to Laurel and spend the day with my cousin Nikki & her family and my Aunt Dorothy. Then early, early Sunday, we’ll leave for home.

We haven’t been to Cody in a long time. I am looking forward to this road-trip. It’ll be nice to get out of town. Maybe we can hit some antique/junk/thrift stores on the way!

One Response

  1. Denise, I wish you safe travels, good times, and a trip to remember for years to come! Can’t wait to see the photos!

Leave a Reply

