My latest rant

I met Steve for lunch today at Streets of Tanasbourne, which is just down the street from my office. He was all excited about the sale at Macy’s (yes, he likes to shop too!). So after lunch, I did a quick walk-through to see if they had any cute clothes in my size (every once in a while I find something I can’t live without). Anyway, to give you a little background… I’ve NEVER been petite. I don’t aspire to be petite. Even when I was smaller, I was not petite. So why in the world do they make someone my size walk all the way around the store past all the cute little outfits

in sizes S-M-L, next to the even cuter petite outfits

to the bigger, women’s sizes in the very far back corner of the store? Yes, that is a rhetorical question… I find it insulting, nonetheless. I don’t care if it’s only $28… I mean, who in their right mind would wear this?

The description: Eye candy. Colorful polka-dot print floats against a black background in this soft silk square-neck top… Why don’t they just use the word “clown” in the description because that’s what it’d look like in real-life! Hideous on so many levels, I don’t know where to begin! And what about this lovely number:

Flaunt the safari trend with this stylish animal-print patchwork silk skirt… patchwork?! Ugh! Oh, here’s one more… what self-respecting plus-sized woman would sport this lovely tunic?

I don’t think that particular shade of pink is flattering to anyone, much less, a size 18-ish grown woman. It’s not right, I’m telling you… who is doing the purchasing for this store? Who does the photography? Notice the cutesy poses on the little models and the unflattering cookie-cutter poses on all the bigger sizes? Do they think all us big girls also have no fashion sense? Holy crap, Macy’s people! I know I’m not the only one who feels this way! There are cute women’s-sized clothing out there! This cute dress

from Spiegel comes in plus. If you want me to continue shopping with you, Macy’s, do something about it!

4 Responses

  1. Preachin’ to the choir, sistah! At the Macy’s near my job, they used to have the Women’s section on the THIRD FLOOR BEHIND THE MEN’S SECTION AND THE LUGGAGE!!!!! Well, I was quite encouraged when they recently moved it down to the second floor – at least it’s among other female clothing! But it hasn’t helped the styles.
    Why oh why oh why do they think that larger women all love bright colors? And cheap looking prints? And satin! Argh, I could go on…..
    Right there witcha, girl.

  2. …although, I have to say, that particular shade of pink looks very good with the pink in my grey/white hair!

  3. And don’t forget all the awful rhinestones and glitter! If you want some classy clothes for women, try http://www.jjill.com, but be prepared to pay the big bucks.

    On the bright side, jjill has great sales and quality clothing.

    L

  4. I hear you and feel your pain.

    It’s just another reason I had to shop these days.

    xo

Leave a Reply

