Okay… ‘fess up!

Is anyone else watching this show? I have to admit I am. If you were a kid in the 70s, you’ve gotta remember the music, the styles, and the attitudes. I mean, this is not the type of show I feel comfortable talking about at work.

Many of the people I work with weren’t born or don’t remember tie-dye, peace signs, the smiley face (before it became an emoticon), and shows like The Dating Game, The Newlywed Game, and Love American Style. Gas lines twice that decade in 1973 and 1979, riding in the back of mom’s station wagon, going to the drive in, and watching black and white TV? What about the Vietnam War, Watergate, Apollo and Skylab? Hippies and women’s-libbers? Pet rocks, bell bottoms, streaking? What an era. I could go on an on.

Steve thinks I’m nuts for watching but it really is a good show… well acted, interesting plot lines, and great dynamic among the characters. it’s kind of like an adult Wonder Years. Anyway, it’s summer… what else is there to watch?

So, is anyone else out there watching? Would love to hear your thoughts.

One Response

  1. I was a young adult in the 70’s, and am not able to watch that show. Too close to home? Not really, just not a representation of the world I lived in at the time, which was filled with travel, reading science fiction and taking illicit drugs, and not being able to listen to the music on the radio because it was so bad.

    Two of my current tv faves just ended for the season: So You Think You Can Dance and Doctor Who. I’m THRILLED that Mad Men is back – also watching Burn Notice and In Plain Sight on USA – I have a crush on the geeky agent played by Fred Weller. The five-minute eps of Rescue Me that are on are sensational. Also following Project Runway and Shear Heaven. Can you tell I watch tv too much? I love my dvr.

Leave a Reply

