Out of sync

It never fails. Every time we change the clock, it takes a while for my body to get used to the idea. You know it’s really fall when it’s dark by the time you get off work. I hate the short days. It doesn’t help that I live in rainy Oregon. I really could use more sunshine this time of year. I think we should keep daylight savings time year-round. I came upon this website that is promoting some interesting ideas. Here is their proposal:

We have a modest proposal to end daylight saving time that will reap large benefits in addition to ending the semi-annual changing of the clock.

It has not escaped our notice that in the United States, Eastern standard time is the same as Central daylight time and Mountain standard time is the same as Pacific Daylight Time. Thus, we propose that the Pacific and Central time zones remain on permanent daylight saving time, and that the Mountain and Eastern time zones remain on permanent standard time.

In addition to releasing us from the burden of having to set our clocks every few months, this will also reduce the number of time zones in the United States from four to two. Thus, for example, New York, Philadelphia, Chicago, and Dallas will now all be operating on the same time, and people will no longer have to adjust to different time zones when they do business or travel between any of these cities. People traveling or doing business between the East and West coasts will only have a two hour time difference to contend with, instead of the three hour difference with which we are currently burdened.

This proposal will simplify scheduling, travel, and commerce. And by ending semi-annual clock tampering, it will also allow people to get more sleep, be better adjusted to their daily routine, avoid missed appointments resulting from failure to reset clocks, and, most importantly, save lives (& stay on Daylight Savings Time in Oregon).

Please help to bring about an end to the mad, semi-annual ritual of changing our clocks, by taking just a few moments to add your name to our petition, which will be forwarded to the appropriate government officials. And please remember to tell anyone you know who might be interested in helping to support our cause to visit standardtime.com and sign up, too.

What do you think? I like the idea and signed their petition. If you’d like to learn more, visit their website.

3 Responses

  1. Living in overly-sunny SoCal as I do, I actually like it when the time changes! It had been getting harder and harder for me to get up in the morning when it was pitch-dark outside, and now that it’s light at 6:30 am, I’m finding it much easier. And being that it’s dark when I leave work means that it’s cooler outside, and not being one for the heat, that’s a good thing for me! I have GOT to move to Portland. That’s the five-year plan, anyway!

  2. laurel, i don’t want to hear anything about sunny california! it’s been pretty rainy here too denise! i constantly have a wet yard full of wet sticky leaves! the time change is hard on me too. we feel like we should be getting ready for bed and it is only 6:00pm. i say, do away with daylight savings time!
    p.s.
    Phoebe looks like alot like my doggie, Gracie

  3. I live in rainy Oregon and I wish they wouldn’t use Daylight Savings Time! I have a hard time getting out of bed as it gets darker and darker in the mornings. I hate walking my kids to the bus in the dark. The cars speed down our road in the mornings scare the heck out of me. In the dark, I’m afraid one of the kids will get run over.

    Like you, Denise, my husband prefers Daylight Savings time.

    I guess you can’t please everyone!

Leave a Reply

