Thanksgiving appetizers?

My mom asked me to bring appetizers for Thanksgiving. Only problem is I’m coming up blank. I’ve used up all my creative ideas. I may have to resort to ready-made but jazzed-up Costco buys. Anyone out there have any good ideas? I want something that is sophisticated but easy to fix. It’ll need to be no-cook or ready made because my mom only has one oven and I live 35 minutes away.  In the past I’ve brought olive tapenade and humus with pita, antipasto platter, bruschetta and garlic rounds.

I’m considering sun-dried tomato cheesecake but what do you serve with it?

What’s hot as far as appetizers go these days?

5 Responses

  1. Well, as far as what’s hot for appetizers I have no idea. But here are a few of my stand bys that are always a hit.
    *Costco meatballs & BBQ sauce in the crockpot.
    *A block of cream cheese, with bay shrimp and cocktail sauce over the top, serve with crackers.
    *Hot artichoke dip with crackers. If you bake this right before you go and wrap the covered dish in a towel it will stay warm and be perfect when you get there. Someone always asks for this every year.
    I’ll post the recipe on my blog.

    Also, allrecipies.com is my favorite place to go when I’m stuck for a recipe. My family are all good sports though (for the most part) when I want to try something new.

  2. Favorites around here:

    Muhammara

    1 12-ounce jar roasted red bell peppers in olive oil with garlic, drained
    1 cup walnuts
    1/3 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)*
    2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
    2 teaspoons pomegranate molasses or fresh lemon juice
    1 teaspoon ground cumin
    1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
    Pita chips

    Blend all ingredients except pita chips in processor until coarse puree forms. Season with salt. Transfer to bowl; serve with chips. I find the panko at Uwashimaya.

    These are a hit whenever we take them to a party:

    Mini Zucchini and goat cheese tarts

    1 refrigerated pie crust (half of 15-ounce package)
    2 1/2 pounds 1-inch-diameter zucchini, cut into 1/16- to 1/8-inch-thick rounds
    1 teaspoon salt
    2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil plus additional for drizzling
    2 teaspoons chopped fresh lemon thyme or regular thyme
    3 ounces soft fresh goat cheese, room temperature
    1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese

    Line rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper. Place pie crust on floured work surface. Using 1 1/2- to 1 3/4-inch cookie cutter or biscuit cutter dipped in flour, cut out 24 rounds; transfer to prepared sheet, spacing 1/2 inch apart. Place in freezer until dough is firm, about 30 minutes. DO AHEAD: Can be made 1 day ahead. Cover; keep frozen.

    Toss zucchini with 1 teaspoon salt in medium bowl. Let stand 15 minutes. Drain and pat dry. Place zucchini in another medium bowl; toss with 2 tablespoons olive oil and thyme. Sprinkle zucchini with pepper.

    Preheat oven to 400°F. Spread goat cheese generously over each frozen dough round. Fold 3 to 4 zucchini slices in half and place in concentric circle atop 1 dough round, creating flower-like pattern. Repeat with remaining zucchini and dough (reserve any remaining zucchini for another use). Sprinkle with Parmesan. Bake until crusts are light golden, about 20 minutes. Transfer to platter. Drizzle lightly with additional olive oil. Serve warm or at room temperature. I have used both sun dried tomatoes and chopped Nicoise olives instead of the zucchini in a pinch, pushed into the goat cheese with the back of a spoon.

    And my favorite of all times, given to me by a Elinor’s mother many years ago:

    Cream Cheese and Chutney

    2 package of cream cheese, soft and at room temperature
    1 bottle of Mayor Grey’s chutney
    Tabasco to taste
    1 cup shredded coconut

    Mix all the ingredients and serve cool but not cold. (What she meant was that you can keep this baby in the refrigerator for up to 3 days before serving it but you want to let it warm up to spreadable consistency. I serve it with pita triangles and Sweet Crisp apple slices. Whole Foods have Sweet Crisp right now or they did this past week.

    Hope these are recipes you can use. They are tried winners for me.

  3. Forgot to tell that the pomegranate molasses can be found in any of the middle eastern stores around town. They used to be one by Costco Tigard but they moved. I think the Bazar Pakistani-Indian- Middle Eastern Market Place in Canyon and 102nd I think may have it. This is the address I have in my book:
    10140, SW Canyon Rd
    Beaverton , Oregon
    Phone : (503) 496-9464

  4. mmm, Allegra, your recipes sound woooooonderful! Sorry I have nothing to contribute to the “pot” – I’m a terrible cook! But Happy Thanksgiving to all!

  5. Awesome ideas!

    Thanks so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

