Photog beginner

I’ve been so frustrated with my digital camera. I’ve had my Nikon Coolpix S7c for a year now and although I’ve read the user guide a couple times, I still struggle! Should I stick with totally auto settings? Or should I make manual adjustments to the exposure and white balance? What the heck does the macro setting do? Nothing I’ve tried has helped. How could it be so difficult? How do other people take such wonderful pictures and why couldn’t I? I just want to point, shoot, download and upload with as little manipulation in between. Unfortunately, my end result hasn’t been worthy of the shred pile let alone, my new Etsy shop, Artful Bliss.

I was about to give up! Imagine my pleasure when I recently stumbled upon this brilliant artist’s 1000 Market blog. Anandi creates wonderful hand-stamped gifts and jewelry for people and their pets. She is very talented and creative and I’ve enjoyed reading her insightful posts. She recently began a multi-part series and the first installment titled Product photography – the bane of my existence, Part I, resonated strongly with me. Her tips are awesome and after reading Part I, I couldn’t wait for her next post.

The remaining additions to the series are as smart as the first: Product photography – why is this so hard, part IIProduct photography – all the world’s a scary stage, part III; Product photography – where’s that darn photo, part III.V; Product photography – editing, not just for newspapers, part IV.  Anandi combines humor with common sense, tips & tricks, her best known methods, and excellent writing style into one of the best, most constructive blogs I have read. I have learned a lot and now need to put the concepts into practice!

Stay tuned… I’ll have before and after photos in my next installment!

One Response

  1. Two words: Photoshop Elements. My photos would be cra@ without it for editing.

Leave a Reply

